Lynching Memorials: Project Description

July 22, 2009 at 6:22 pm 2 comments

Duluth, Minnesota – Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial

When I started my study of lynching memorials earlier this summer I was planning to compare Duluth’s memorial efforts to those of Waco, Texas and Coatesville, Pennsylvania.  Although both Waco and Coatesville also had large scale lynchings, the memorialization practices in these cities are far less extensive than those of the Duluth project.

Because I have an immense amount of material on Duluth and am still collecting information, I am now reducing the scope of my research.

I still hope to do some background work on Waco and Coatesville.  However, I think I’ll have to postpone rigorous examination of these sites.  So at this time I’m centering my study on the Duluth memorial.  Perhaps I can later expand my studies of lynching memorials to include Waco and Coatesville.

This material will be of interest to art historians, visual culture theorists, historians, sociologists, cultural geographers, and just about anyone interested in issues of race, memory, public space, and American history.
I hope my studies will enrich the discourse on American landscape as I uncover how place is formed locally, regionally, and nationally.

I am doing this work as part of the University of Delaware’s Public Engagement in Material Culture (PEMCI) fellowship program.  The program encourages graduate students to share their research on material culture with the broader public.

Sharing my project via blogging was one of the methods we were encouraged to use.

After I’ve completed the research I will create two lectures: one for an adult audience and the other for school-age children.  The lectures will be presented in the Newark/Wilmington, Delaware area.

Once I know the dates of these future events I will post them on this blog and on Facebook.

La Tanya S. Autry

Entry filed under: Lynching, Public Space. Tags: .

Lynching Memorials: Overview of Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gail schoenfelder  |  May 29, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Hello LaTanya

    Remember me from Duluth? I was googling memorials tonight and came across this posting?

    Have you finished your thesis? I would love to hear how you are doing. Please write.

    gail

    Reply
    • 2. artstuffmatters  |  May 30, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      Hi Gail,
      Nice to hear from you! I’ll send you an email.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


artstuffmatters

Artstuffmatters focuses on public culture in the arts- public art, photography, landscapes, museums, and more.

Search by Date

July 2009
S M T W T F S
    Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets on ArtStuff

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,323 other followers

Flickr Photos


