June 15th- Anniversary of the Duluth Lynchings & 2010 Remembrance Events

June 11, 2010 at 12:12 am 2 comments

This weekend Duluth, Minnesota concludes the 2010 remembrance events to honor the Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial.

This multicultural commemoration focuses on the 1920 lynchings and highlights other local struggles against racial injustice.

June 12-  Film screening of Older Than America with discussion.   The film is about how the Indian boarding schools. For information on the film, see http://www.olderthanamerica.com.

June 14- Memorial service at grave sites of Elias Clayton, Elmer Jackson, and Isaac McGhie at Park Hill Cemetery.

June 15- Community gathers at Duluth jail and marches to the memorial.

June 15- Observance ceremony with speaker Susana Pelayo- Woodward, UMD Office of Cultural Diversity at the Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial, 1st Street & 2nd Ave East.

Day of Remembrance observance with keynote speaker.
Events close with a candlelight vigil.

See the events section on Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial website for detailed information, http://www.claytonjacksonmcghie.org/Events.

PHOTOS ANYONE?: I need high resolution images of the memorial wall (especially the quotes) and the various ceremonies.  The photos will be used for the blog, flickr memorial group, PowerPoint presentations, and other educational outreach purposes.  If you attend the event and have photographs to share, please let me know by sending a comment or upload images to the group: American Lynching Memorials on flickr, http://www.flickr.com/groups/lynching_memorials/pool/.
I appreciate your assistance in helping to raise awareness of lynching memorials in the U.S.

Entry filed under: Lynching, Memorials/Monuments, Public Art, Public Space. Tags: , , , , , .

Can Wikipedia Save Public Art? Lots to Say About Memorials?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janice Kirk  |  July 12, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Dear Ms. Autry, I am so sorry I did not get to meet you at the June event.My Name is Janice Kirk and i have lived here over 20 yrs. About the memorial, one day three young men left home and did not return. I personally feel the memorial should have been erected in their towns. when a man goes off to war and wins the victory or gives up his life to a cause, they memorialize him where he came from, not in a foreign country . I am not sure if they have relatives alive or not…but if they did do any of them know exactly what happen to their
    folks. About the site of the memorial: when we think about memorial sites I , personally,m think of beautiful parks the center of town, a meadow…but not the drug and prostitute main drag. I live here and I would not go down there for any reason. I am just saying they spent a ton of money to make themselves feel better but “What about The Young Men Who were murdered” and their Families. let’s make them feel better, if we can. When I ask most black males how they feel about the whole thing, I have heard that it can be viewed as a “WARNING” thanks , jlk-7/12/12

    Reply
    • 2. artstuffmatters  |  July 13, 2012 at 4:49 am

      Dear Ms. Kirk,
      Thank you for your comment. During my recent visit I met several people who possess favorable feelings about the Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial. However, I also met some people who did not like it. The varying viewpoints that I encountered about the lynching memorialization and the form of the memorial underscored my understanding of memory as a complex issue.
      From my review of reports about the memorial development and interviews with memorial board members, I learned that the people who developed the memorial did try to locate descendents of the lynched men. However, it was very challenging because the records regarding the identification of the men were incomplete. Although they were unable to find any family information for Elias Clayton or Isaac McGhie, they did locate and communicate with Virginia Huston, a relative of Elmer Jackson. One year Ms. Huston even attended one of Duluth’s annual memorial gatherings. Additionally, in honor of his memory, citizens from Jackson’s hometown successfully lobbied to have a bridge (in Topeka, Kansas) dedicated to his memory.
      When I can find some time, I will blog about my recent visit to the city. I spoke with several people and collected lots of information. However, I know that there are many more aspects of the memorial to examine. I look forward to returning to Duluth so I can learn more about how diverse members of the community feel about the memorial. I do appreciate your views.
      Best,
      La Tanya S. Autry

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


artstuffmatters

Artstuffmatters focuses on public culture in the arts- public art, photography, landscapes, museums, and more.

Search by Date

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Tweets on ArtStuff

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,323 other followers

Flickr Photos


