5 Things I Want to See & Do in 2011

January 9, 2011 at 11:37 pm 2 comments

Philadelphia mural

Image by FlickrDelusions via Flickr

Here’s a short list of things I want to see and do in 2011.  I can definitely do some of these activities. However, others require luck or longstanding collective action.

Experience Papergirl in Philly
What is Papergirl? Artists donate two-dimensional works to an arts collective.  People from the group prepare the works for delivery, hop on their bikes, and throw the rolled up art to random people on the street.  In 2005 Aisha Ronniger started this public art program in Berlin as a response to laws against street art.  Since then the project has expanded worldwide.
I haven’t heard of Papergirl in Philadelphia.  But I’d love to see or help the project happen in this area.
If you haven’t heard of this initiative, then you should check out: http://www.coolhunting.com/culture/papergirl.php and http://papergirl-berlin.de/.

Go Sightseeing on the Mural Arts Tours
Shame on me! I’ve lived in the Philadelphia area for a few years and I still haven’t gone on one of these tours.
Philadelphia has loads of great public art.  While I’ve studied various sculptures in the city, I haven’t really focused on the numerous painted walls.  To get a comprehensive perspective, I’d like to go on the tours that highlight murals in Center City, North Philadelphia, South Philadelphia, and West Philadelphia.  When the weather warms up, I’m there.
For information, see The Mural Art Program.

Witness Yarn Bombing
What a great way to domesticate the urban environment!  Renegade knitters and crocheters dress public spaces in colorful, soft, and removable art.  They install their work on structures such as signposts, traffic barricades, parking meters, bike racks, and even trees.  Although I first learned of this street art form a few years ago, I haven’t encountered any.   I know it sometimes happens in Philadelphia.  However, I haven’t seen it during my visits to the city.  So, this year I’m hoping for yarn storms.

I’ve collected a few videos about yarn based graffiti on Vodpod.  Here’s one that’s particularly fun.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Visit Our Tallest Lady-The Statue of Liberty (officially named Statue of Liberty Liberty Enlightening the World)
Again shame on me, I’ve never visited Liberty Island to see this American icon.  Although I’ve spent a lot of time on the east coast, I’ve only seen this 151′ tall copper lady from a distance.  After Frederic-Auguste Bartholdi completed the sculpture in 1884, it wasn’t very popular.  Today, the opposite is true.  Touring the Statue of Liberty National Monument requires reservations and the ability to contend with large crowds.  Nevertheless, I don’t really have a good excuse for missing this cultural treasure.  While I’m there, I could include a jaunt over to Ellis Island, another historic site that I’ve never visited. Shhh!

Attend the Clayton, Jackson, McGhie Memorial Commemorative Events
Awhile ago I visited Duluth, Minnesota to see the Clayton, Jackson, McGhie Memorial which commemorates the lives of three African-American men killed by lynch mob in 1920.  I photographed the site and interviewed some of the memorial board members.  However, I didn’t talk with people not involved with the memorial production.  Also, I didn’t attend the annual commemorative program held in mid-June.
Since the dedication in 2003, organizers have held a yearly program to discuss the meaning of the memorial and the community’s need for social justice.
Because my graduate research focuses on lynching landscapes, attending these ceremonies is very important.
To learn about the 2010 events, visit http://www.claytonjacksonmcghie.org/Events.

More?
This list highlights just a few of the art and history related sites and programs that I’d like to experience this year. What about you? Are there any public art works or museums that you want to see?

Entry filed under: Art, Material Culture, Public Art, Public Space. Tags: , , , .

Promising Presentations: Memorials+ Winter Arthopping from Boston to DC

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Stierch  |  January 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I would really like to finally make it to the Kreeger here in DC. I’d love to see a show I worked on up at the NMAI in New York, “Infinity of Nations.” Head back to Indianapolis for the Thornton Dial exhibition. I moved to DC recently and I’m looking forward to attending parties at the Hirshhorn.

    I love the bombing stuff, I’d like to get involved in some form of seed bombing here in DC, so I don’t knit 🙂

    Would like to see Wikipedia: Public Art gain more recognition and involvement and see the Tony Smith Project come into fruition.

    Personal goals: I’m a hobbyist photographer and I hope I can get a piece in an exhibition. Never considered myself worthy, until others convinced me, I’m also hoping to get InstantDC to Indianapolis and execute a few exhibitions here myself. I’d also like to get my consulting firm off the ground, helping artists and organizations get organized for an affordable price.

    Reply
    • 2. artstuffmatters  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      Hi Sarah,
      Sounds like some fantastic hopes for 2011. Looks like you’re going to be busy. Good luck on making them come true!
      By the way, I think that Wikipedia: Public Art is great. I’d like to help out with this project after I’ve completed my exams. In the meanwhile I’ll stay tuned and encourage fellow art historians to get involved.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


artstuffmatters

Artstuffmatters focuses on public culture in the arts- public art, photography, landscapes, museums, and more.

Search by Date

January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweets on ArtStuff

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,323 other followers

Flickr Photos


